What Should I Grow?

HomeForumsGardening DiscussionsWhat Should I Grow?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by greenqueen greenqueen 4 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

gardenhoney79
    Participant

As a newbie, I am looking online and see there are over 600 types of tomato plants…yikes!  How do I know what type to pick and grow?  Is one type easier to grow and more tolerant than others? I love tomatoes of all kinds, big, small, you name it…I love tomatoes!  I just want to be sure there aren’t some types that require the skills of a long-time expert (which, clearly, I am not!).

LilyRose
    LilyRose
    Participant

I look for tomato varieties that taste good, are disease resistant and grow well in my area which is North Florida. I have grown many varieties but my all time favorites that I keep coming back to are:
    1. Celebrity – An all American Selections Winner. Highly productive, adaptable and resistant to wilt, root know nematode Mosaic Virus and Alternaria stem canker. The Celebrity seems to perform well in our often humid and hot climate.
    2. Sweet Gold  – Vining gold cherry tomatoes that are bright, beautiful and sooo sweet and yummy Very vigorous and happy rambling on a fence. Once you taste these, you will be hooked!
    3. Cherakee Purple – An heirloom variety that I first tasted in North Carolina and it was love at first bite! I grows some every year because they are beautiful dusty rose to purple tomatoes with fantastic flavor.

happychicken
    happychicken
    Participant